Original Author: National Woman Suffrage Association
Created: 1869–1883

Constitution of the National Woman Suffrage Association

The Constitution of the National Woman Suffrage Association, adopted on May 15, 1869, explains the mission of the organization and lists its officers from across the country. Anna W. Bodeker of Richmond is listed here as a vice president in the organization. The only other Virginian on the roster is Maria Underwood, of Alexandria, on the advisory committee. A slightly revised version of the first constitution, this document was published between 1869 and 1883 in the Revolution, a women's rights newspaper.