Virginia Counties 1731—1740
Original Author: Michael F. Doran
Created: Original publication 1987; 2003 edition
Medium: Map

Virginia Counties 1731–1740

This map shows the growth of Virginia counties in the 1730s with the establishment of four new county governments in the west and southwest: Orange, Amelia, Prince William, and Brunswick. A county was formed by an act of the General Assembly, but it often took a year, or sometimes a number of years, before that county's government was officially established. The newly formed counties shown in this map were those that had set up a working government. This map was published in the 2003 edition of the book Atlas of County Boundary Changes in Virginia 1634–1895 (1987) by Michael F. Doran.

Sponsors  |  View all