The Missouri Compromise. 1820.
Original Author: McConnell Map Co.
Created: 1919
Medium: Printed map

The Missouri Compromise. 1820.

This map published in McConnell's Historical Maps of the United States (1919) delineates the states that legally permitted slavery and those that prohibited it as a result of the Missouri Compromise of 1820. By that decision, Missouri was accepted into the Union as a slave state and Maine was admitted as a free state. The United States then had twenty-four states—twelve of them permitting slavery and twelve of them free.

Sponsors  |  View all