Registering for School in Farmville
Original Author: Unknown
Created: Probably August 21, 1963
Medium: Photograph

Registering for School in Farmville

Students, probably accompanied by their mothers, gather at a table to register for Free School No. 2 (later named the Mary E. Branch School), which formally opened on September 16, 1963. For some of the students it would be their first experience in school since 1959, when the Prince Edward County school board decided to close the public schools rather than integrate them. Free School No. 2 was one of three local school buildings leased for a year by the Prince Edward Free School Association with the support of the Kennedy administration and private funds.